6.03.2014 г.

Chris Hinze - 1976 - Wide and Blue

Flute, Flute [Alto] – Chris Hinze
Bass – Eberhard Weber
Drums, Percussion – Lala Kovacev
Guitar – Sigi Schwab

Recorded February 1976 at Studio Barbarossa Munich.

4.03.2014 г.

Dennis González & Faruq Z Bey with Northwoods Improvisers Septet - 2008 - Hymn for Tomasz Stanko

"A great album, of the same expansive and broad-sweeping level as 'Nile River Suite' or 'Dance Of The Soothsayer's Tongue' ". 

Recorded in November 2004 and March 2005 in Michigan, this is the newest release from Italy's Qbico Records (Qbico 82). Gonzalez, whose recent work has transcended the genres of jazz, has teamed up with Detroit saxophonist Bey, as well as reedmen Skeeter Shelton (son of renown Chicago drummer Ajaramu and the keyboardist/singer Amina Claudine Myers) and Mike Carey, both also from Detroit, along with the grounbreaking Michigan trio Northwoods Improvisers to present a rhythmic and melodic African-tinged release.

Faruq Z. Bey is best known for being the leader of the legendary Griot Galaxy (the jazz band founded in 1972 with drummer Tani Tabbal, bassist Jaribu Shahid, and saxophonists Anthony Holland and David McMurray) until Bey's tragic motorcycle accident brought the group to an end in 1985.

9.04.2013 г.

Spjärnsvallet - 1975 - Spjärnsvallet

Spjärnsvallet a group of musicians including Bengt 'Beche' Berger (drummer and percussionist), Kjell Westling and Christer Bothén. A hot mix of musical idioms of India, Africa, Sweden and the U.S."the name spjärnsvallet popped up in a dream, it was kjell westlings dream" kjell & bengt have played in arbete och fritid as well as many other constellations "instrumental jazzrock influenced from folkmusic all over the world" Colorful album, that everybody may find something special.

6.02.2013 г.

David S. Ware - 1992 - Flight Of I

Label: Columbia - CK 52956

Saxophone [Tenor], Composer – David S. Ware (1, 4, 6)
Bass – William Parker
Drums – Mark Edwards (4)
Piano – Matthew Shipp

Recorded on 10, 11 December 1991 at The Power Station, NYC.

27.09.2012 г.

VA - Bilongo - A Third Collection Of Modern Afro Rhythms (2000)

Label: Comet Records – CD 017

01 - Eko - Kilimandjaro my home
02 - Kelenkye band - Jungle Music
03 - Richard Raux and Hamsa - A Coltrane
05 - Georges Edouard Nouel - Meci bon dieu
07 - Alfred Panou and Art Ensemble of Chicago - Je suis un sauvage
08 - Les Dums - La danse des grands singes nus
09 - Michel Sardaby - Welcome new warmth
10 - Roots Foundation - Make It funky
11 - Julian Bahulas Jazz Afrika - Woza cindi
12 - Louis Xavier - Steps

21.09.2012 г.

JuJu - 1974 - Chapter 2: Nia

Label: Strata-East – SES-7420

Bass [Fender] – Branch
Bells – Ngoma Ya Uhuru
Congas – Babatunde*, Simbo (tracks: 2, 5)
Drums – Babatunde
Flute – Plunky Nkabinde
Percussion – Al Hammel Rasul, Plunky Nkabinde
Piano – Al Hammel Rasul
Saxophone [Soprano] – Plunky Nkabinde
Saxophone [Tenor] – Plunky Nkabinde
Shekere – Al Hammel Rasul
Vocals [Poetry] – Ngoma Ya Uhuru
Whistle – Babatunde

Recorded June, 1974 at Eastern Recording Studios, Richmond, Virginia. 
Originally released by Strata-East Records, SES7420, 1974. 
Tracks 7, 8 are bonus tracks recorded live at The Brooklyn, NY Cultural Center, The East in 1973.

7.09.2012 г.

Foday Musa Suso, Pharoah Sanders, Eberhard Weber - 1997 - Earth Song

1997-June-08 Frankfurt, 
Hessischer Rundfunk, Sendesaal, 28. Deutsches Jazzfestival 1997.

Pharoah Sanders,ts,voc 
Foday Musa Suso,kora,voc 
Eberhard Weber,b

6.09.2012 г.

Stephen McCraven - 1979 - Wooley The Newt

Label:  Sweet Earth Records – SER 1006

Format:  Vinyl, LP, Album 
Country: US
Released: 1979

Drums, Percussion – Stephen McCraven
Bass – Jack Gregg
Piano, Percussion – Michel Graillier
Saxophone [Alto, Soprano], Percussion – Sulaiman Hakim
Saxophone [Tenor, Soprano], Percussion – Richard Raux

Recorded at Ramses studio, April 14, 1979. 
Mixed on April 22, 1979. 
Mastered at Masterdisk Studios, NYC.

9.03.2012 г.

Angel Group - 2003 - For Those Who Cry

Music from the bulgarian vaults with a touch of deep feeling. Those who love the music of ECM
Records im sure will enjoy this peace of art here also.

Dobromira Vaklinova - klarinet, voices
Iliya Velichkov - voices
Ivailo Hristov - drums
Veselin Koychev - synth-bass

Recorded  2003 Plovdiv, Bulgaria

11.02.2012 г.

The Lightmen - 1970 - Free As You Wanna Be

JUDNELL LP 1001 1970

Alto Sax, Soprano Sax, Alto Flute – Ronnie Laws
Bass – Ed Rose
Conga – Mike O'Connor
Drums – Bubbha Thomas, William Jefferies
Guitar – Kenny Abair
Tenor Sax – Doug Harris
Trombone – Joe Singleton
Trumpet – Carl Adams

Recorded on 26th June 1970.

Here's the title track from this incredibly rare Texas joint on Judnell. The first recording of the Lightmen, before they went on to produce Fancy Pants and Energy Control Center as the "plus one" line-up.
Since people of African decent in America began to openly question the constitution of the United States over their rights as American citizens, a new frontier of thinking among all the people has developed. Among those in the struggle in Houston, Texas, Bubbha Thomas is very active in fighting to achieve not only our civil rights but out human rights as well. I asked him at a Sunday morning rehearsal, "How free are black people in America? ... after giving the question some serious thought, Bubbha replied, "free as they wanna be." With the answer to the question came the name to a tune i had written, the title tune of this album. After the head of tune, there should be no sense of time; each muscian has the freedom to be free musically, as he can imagine himself. 

9.02.2012 г.

Nathan Davis - 1972 - 6th Sense In The 11th House

Label: Segue – SEG-1002
Released: 1972
Genre: Jazz
Style: Modal

Tenor Saxophone, Soprano Saxophone, Bass Clarinet, Flute, Directed By [Musical Director] – Nathan Davis
Bass – Richard Davis
Drums – Alan Dawson
Liner Notes – Bill Powell
Piano – Roland Hanna
Producer – George Bacasa

Recorded By, Mixed By – Olaf Kuuskler
Recorded at WRS Recording Studios, Pittsburgh, Pennsylvania

8.02.2012 г.

Pete Yellin - 1973 - It's The Right Thing

Label: Mainstream Records  
Catalog#: MRL 397  
Format: Vinyl, LP, Gatefold
Released: 1973 

Credits: Acoustic Guitar - Jack Wilkins , Roland Prince 
Bass [Acoustic, Fender] - Clint Houston 
Congas - Lawrence Killian 
Drums - Darryl Washington , David Lee, Jr. 
Electric Piano - Hal Galper 
Flute - Mario Rivera (2) , Pete Yellin* 
Percussion - Angel Allendй* 
Producer - Bob Shad 
Saxophone [Alto] - Pete Yellin* 
Saxophone [Tenor, Soprano, Baritone] - Mario Rivera (2) 
Trombone - Barry Rogers