8.05.2009 г.

The Best Of Cookin'

Various Artists, Best Of Cookin’, Ubiquity URCD 063 (2CD, USA), 2000

This slammin' two-CD compilation collects works from the fabulous acid jazz compilations Home Cookin', Mo Cookin', Still Cookin', What's Cookin', and Is That Jazz?. Galactic, Greyboy, DJ Swingset, Sharpshooters and others contribute midlength jams that are a mix of soulful melodies, deep funk grooves, hip-hop beats, and rump-shaking dance music. While jazz has been influential in certain drum & bass circles since the late-'90s, these early-'90s neofusion hybrids serve as logical precursors and illuminate how well the artists on the set also serve the jam-band fans who've crossed over to improvised jazz largely on the strengths of funkateers like Medeski Martin & Wood and others. Even so, the tracks here sound incredibly fresh and fun, mixing live instruments and DJs for a party where everyone is playing spiritedly. At home on the dance floor or in the cocktail lounge, The Best of Cookin' is a fine reminder of the potency of acid jazz and a great introduction for electronic music fans who are interested in seeing a crucial early bridge between the jazz and DJ culture.

CD 1

01. Greyboy - Unwind Your Mind
02. Rhythm Section - Suzanne's Jam
03. Slide Five - Outerspace
04. Vibes Alive - The Spoken Word
05. Ping Pong - Goin' Downhill
06. Galactic - Black Eyed Pea
07. New Legends - Sole Food
08. Ten Bass T - Hip Hop Culture
09. Sharpshooters - Pork Pride Stride
10. Spirit Level - Solar Funk
11. Greyboy Allstars - Jungle Strut
12. Jacko Peake - SFO
13. Mock Quintet - Bolsa de Perrito



01. Sweet Potato - Monkey Wrench
02. Slide Five - Streamline
03. Greyboy - Grey's Groove
04. Rhythm Section - Tachyon
05. Vibes Alive - Mantra
06. Ping Pong - Be-Bop Props
07. Sky Juice - Children
08. Rhythm Section - Waiting for the Sun
09. Greyboy - Panacea
10. DJ Swingsett - Peace on the Streets
11. Sweet Potato - Wet Willie


6.05.2009 г.

Blue Mitchell - 1972 - Blues' Blues

Blue Mitchell - Trumpet, Flugelhorn
Darrell Clayborn - Bass [Fender]
Ray Pounds - Drums
John Guerin - Drums
Joe Sample - Electric Piano, Piano [Acoustic]
Freddie Robinson - Guitar [Electric]
John Mayall - Harmonica
Herman Riley - Saxophone [Tenor], Flutev

At the time that this Mainstream LP was recorded, Blue Mitchell was the featured trumpeter with John Mayall's blues group. Mayall returned the favor for Blue's set, playing harmonica with an electric octet headed by Mitchell. Among the sidemen are Herman Riley (on tenor and flute), keyboardist Joe Sample and guitarist Freddy Robinson. The material (all obscure originals) is primarily blues-oriented, and the music overall is listenable and funky, but not particularly memorable. Just an average date from these fine musicians.

1. Casa Blues (8:25)
2. Just Made Up (7:32)
3. Blues' Blues (7:05)
4. Granite & Concrete (9:51)
5. I Didn't Ask To Be (10:09)


5.05.2009 г.

Push - 1996 - Can't Fight It

Label: Soulciety Records
Catalog#: ME 00481
Country: Germany
Released: 1996
Bass - Ernie McKone
Drums - Crispin Taylor
Engineer - Alex Osman , Matt G
Guitar - Mark Vandergucht
Keyboards - Mike McEvoy*
Percussion - Conor Smith
Saxophone, Flute - Jacko Peake
Trumpet - Damon Brown (2)
Vocals - Eddie Saunders

1. Theme From "Push"
2. Fight It
3. Scarper
4. Contribution
5. Positive
6. The Flute Tune
7. Gimme Some More
8. Out On Sunday
9. Awesome Measure
10. It's Over
11. Jack's Jam
12. Ice