9.04.2010 г.

Paul Humphrey - 1969 - Paul Humphrey and The Cool-Aid Chemists

Lizard/P-Vine (Japan)

Funky drums from the mighty Paul Humphrey, one of the standout studio players of the LA scene of the 60s and 70s, and an even better talent as a leader on this set! Paul's working here in a style that's partly in a funk mode, and partly soul instrumental, supported by small combo instrumentation from other figures on the LA scene, including David T Walker on guitar, Clarence McDonald on keyboards, and Phil Upchurch on bass. The sound is lean and mean, often with a hard-stepping feel that makes many of the cuts sound like some of the more stripped-down blacksploitation numbers from the time! 

01 - Cool Aid
02 - Them Changes
03 - Sack Full Of Dreams
04 - Music Talk
05 - Something
06 - Baby Rice
07 - Detroit
08 - Ain't That Peculiar
09 - Dreams