24.11.2009 г.

Booker Ervin - 1966 - Structurally Sound


Booker Ervin (tenor saxophone)
Charles Tolliver (trumpet)
John Hicks (piano)
Red Mitchell (bass)
Lenny McBrowne (drums)

Mixing the dusky romanticism of Dexter Gordon and the progressive tonal ideology of John Coltrane, Booker Ervin is often filed under "A" for amalgam alongside other overlooked tenor masters such as Tina Brooks and Hank Mobley. Structurally Sound is perhaps not Ervin's most provocative album, but a solid and tasty endeavor featuring the "suspended" chord sounds popularized by McCoy Tyner during the late '60s. Here, the chords come via the brilliant pianist John Hicks, who opens the album with funky high-end triplet figures on Randy Weston's "Berkshire Blues." Joining in is a well-selected roster of musicians, many of whom were also overshadowed by their more well-known contemporaries, including Charles Tolliver on trumpet, Red Mitchell on bass, and Lenny McBrowne on drums. Tolliver contributes the original composition "Franess," a Wayne Shorter-influenced affair that features his fat and burnished tone. They also cover Oliver Nelson's blissful standard "Stolen Moments" to good effect. Originally ending with an athletic up-tempo version of "Take the 'A' Train," the Blue Note Connoisseur Series reissue includes a sparkling "Shiny Stockings," featuring an especially inspired chorus by Ervin. An oddball version of "White Christmas" also makes it onto the disc, as do alternate takes of "Franess" and "Deep Night."

01. Berkshire Blues

02. Dancing In The Dark
04. Franess
05. Boo’s Blues
06. You’re My Everything
07. Deep Night
08. Take The 'A' Train
09. Shiny Stockings
10. White Christmas
11. Franess (alternate take)
12. Deep Night (alternate take)